As of November 4, 2020: Governor Andrew M. Cuomo has announced new guidelines allowing out-of-state travelers to New York to “test out” of the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Travelers from states that are contiguous with New York will continue to be exempt from the travel advisory; however covered travelers must continue to fill out the Traveler Health Form. Essential workers will continue to be exempt as well. The new protocol is effective Wednesday, November 4.
As of September 28, 2020: International travelers arriving in New York must self-quarantine. Travelers arriving in New York from Level 2 and Level 3 countries must complete a 14-day quarantine and fill out the NYS Department of Health traveler health form. The order applies to almost all foreign nations, and will aid in the state’s robust contact tracing efforts and further prevent the spread of COVID-19. Learn more here.
Based upon Governor Cuomo’s Executive Order 205, issued June 25, 2020, the following states meet the criteria for required quarantine (as of October 27): Defined as 14-day quarantine even with a negative COVID-19 test result. This criteria is based upon a seven day rolling average, of positive tests in excess of 10%, or number of positive cases exceeding 10 per 100,000 residents.
As of October 20: Connecticut, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania meet the criteria for the travel advisory but due to the region’s interconnectedness, quarantine is not practically viable. As such, NYS highly discourages non-essential travel between these states and New York to the extent practical.
New York has made this a mandatory order. It is required and there are penalties and ways to enforce. It is not a law but everyone is required to follow the order set in place by the governor. Connecticut on the other hand is an advisory.
The governors of both New York and Connecticut have issued executive orders, while New Jersey does not have any official order and has merely issued a travel advisory. New York’s order requires a 14-day quarantine for all individuals traveling from an impacted state. Additionally, New York is the only state that has imposed a civil penalty for violating the order. For a first violation, an individual could be fined $2,000, which is increased to $5,000 for a second violation, and up to $10,000 if an individual causes harm.