Fire Department’s 94th Annual Officer Installation 2021

Fishers Island Fire Department held the Election of Officers for 2021 in December 2020. The line officers were sworn in by the Fishers Island Fire District commissioners on Monday, January 11, outside the firehouse as the department entered its 94th year.

FI Fire District Commissioners swear in the 2021 line officers in January.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there would be no real celebration for the Fire Department members this month, but the community thanks each and every volunteer for their continued service to the department and the Island.

John Doucette was sworn in as a new District Commissioner and then was able to join commissioners Paul Giles, John Klimczak, Kathy Dollar, and Greg Thibodeau as they swore in the Fire Department line officers for 2021. Catherine Edwards was sworn in as District Secretary and Kristen Petersen was sworn in as District Treasurer.


Fire Department line officers

Division Fire Chief
Division EMS Chief
Division Sea Stretcher Chief
Asst. Division Fire Chief
Asst. Division EMS Chief
Fire Captain
EMS Captain
Fire Lieutenant
Jeff Edwards
Dirk Harris
Jess Hall
David Burnham
Matt Edwards
Chris Dollar
Drew Norton
Becky Walters
Alex Kardziyak


Other Officers

Sargent at Arms
Matt Edwards
Andrew Ahrens
John Doucette
George Horning
John Bergquist & Joe Brock


Thank you to the officers stepping down after years of service including Carol Giles, Tracy Brock, Jill Rogan, and Aaron Lusker.

Fire Department Board of Directors
Tracy Brock, Chair
Courtney Allan
Bob Brooks
Tim Hoch

Fire District Commissioners 2021
Katherine Dollar
John Doucette
Paul Giles, Chair
John Klimczak
Gregory Thibodeau
2020 Calls/Runs
64 Trucks
34 Ambulance
25 Sea Stretcher


Members celebrating anniversaries in January 2021

2021 Fishers Island Fire Department Volunteers

FIFD members reach Life Member (LM) status on their 20th anniversary in the Department. An asterisk (*) indicates the 42 Active Member in the FIFD as of January 2021.

LM Since Joined
Ken Ahman* MAR-99
Lillie Ahman 1997
Andrew Ahrens* MAY-15
Chris Aiello*
Courtney Allan* FEB-17
Don Beck* OCT-99
John Bergquist* APR-02
P. Joe Brock* 2021 AUG-00
Tracy Brock* APR-02
Bob Brooks* JAN-07
David Burnham* 2019
Mike Conroy* 2006
Gail Cypherd* 2017
Greg Cypherd* 2014
Dave Denison 2003
Thomas Doherty 1997
Chris Dollar* FEB-15
Kathy Dollar MAY-15
John Doucette* 2007
Dan Doyen 1999
Reynolds DuPont Jr. 1993
Tawnya Eastman* MAR-09
Chris Edwards 2009
Donald Edwards 1980
Jeffrey Edwards* 2011
Ken Edwards, Sr. 1977
Ken Edwards Jr. 2004
Matt Edwards* OCT-17
Patrick Edwards*
Richard Edwards 2002
William Faulkner 1987
Sarah Freeman* DEC-17
Carol Giles* 2016
Paul Giles 2019
Harrison Hall* MAR-18
Jess Hall* MAY-15
Dirk Harris* MAY-14
LM Since Joined
Jay Hartsfield 1975
Tim Hoch* DEC-18
Lawrence Horn 1995
George Horning* 2001
Bruce Hubert* 2009
Mike Imbriglio 2015
Richard Jenssen, Sr. 1977
Robert Johns 1991
Alex Kardziyak* NOV-08
John Kucsera* APR-11
Aaron Lusker* 2015
Nate Malinowski* NOV-11
Steve Malinowski* 2002
Miguel Mego* MAY-16
Ernie Middleton, II 1984
Drew Norton* OCT-17
Tim Patterson* DEC-05
Aaron Rice 2013
Ed Riley 2006
Jill Rogan JUL-96
P. Joseph Rogan 1982
Bob Rogers* Apr-03
Kandi Sanger 1999
Penn Sanger* 2014
Janio Spinola* AUG-02
Charles Stepanek 2002
Alan Thibodeau 2005
Greg Thibodeau* 1999
Kapri Thomas* JUL-11
Jared Toldo* NOV-16
Brandy Walker FEB-18
Patty Walker* NOV-16
James Wall 2000
Arthur Walsh, Jr. 1995
Mary Walter 2002
Steve Walter 1999
Rebekah Walters* APR-18
Wes Walters* OCT-17
Kathleen Zanghetti 1997
Mario Zanghetti 1975

Congratulations to Joe Brock, reaching Life Membership status.

Support the Sea Stretcher

Support the
Fishers Island Fire Department
PO Box 123
Fishers Island, NY 06390

Check Also

Possible new program at Union Chapel: The Media Lab for Good

What do you think? Please fill out the survey.