Fire Department Enters 91st Year at Annual Installation

by Jane Ahrens
Fire Department members and commissioners in attendence.

The Annual Installation Dinner, hosted by the Fire District Commissioners, was held Saturday, January 20, 2018. Members of the Fishers Island Fire Department (FIFD) and their guests gathered in the barn, with the trucks as a backdrop, to witness the swearing in of this year’s FIFD officers.

There are 45 active volunteers currently serving (many in several roles) as department officers, fire personnel, pump operators, ambulance squad EMTs, and Sea Stretcher captains and navigators. Additional members serve as advisors, drivers, radio control and in other important capacities including FEMA and Homeland Security.

Members serving on duty ‘in the field’, in their primary volunteer positions, break down this way:

The 2018 Roster:
28 Fire Personnel
12 EMS Personnel
11 on Sea Stretcher

Age range for 2018:
9 Under age 40
27 Age 40-60
10 Over age 60

Calls answered in 2017:
57 Fire calls
54 EMS calls
46 Sea Stretcher runs

Founded in 1927, Fishers Island Fire Department members work closely with Dr. Chris Ingram, the Island’s year-round doctor, and the Island Health Project.

2018 Fishers Island Fire District & Fire Department Officers

Fire District Board of Commissioners

Paul F. Giles, Chairman
Katherine M. Dollar
John F. Klimczak
Aaron R. Lusker
Greg C. Thibodeau

Catherine Edwards, Fire District Secretary
Kristen Peterson, Fire District Treasurer

Fire Department Officers

Bruce Hubert, Chief
Jeffrey Edwards, Fire Division Chief
Carol Giles, EMS Division Chief
Dirk Harris, Assistant Fire Division Chief
Tracy Brock, Assistant EMS Division Chief
Alex Kardziyak, Fire Captain
Aaron Rice, Fire Lieutenant
Chris Dollar, EMS Captain
John Doucette, Sargent at Arms
John Bergquist, Steward
Andrew Ahrens, Secretary
Matt Edwards, Treasurer
Tawnya Eastman, Chaplain

Fire Department Executive Board

Tracy Brock, Chair
Bob Brooks
Jeffrey Edwards
Carol Giles
Bruce Hubert
Jill Rogan
Bob Rogers

Emergency Medical Service

Carol Giles, EMT, EMS Division Chief
Tracy Brock, EMT, Assistant EMS Division Chief
Chris Dollar, AEMT, EMS Captain
Gail Cypherd, EMT
Kathy Dollar, EMT
Tawnya Eastman, EMT
Jess Hall, First Responder
Bruce Hubert, EMT
Kapri Thomas, EMT
Patty Walker, EMT

Click on any photo to see a larger image.

2017 Fishers Island Fire Department Volunteers

FIFD members reach Life Member (LM) status on their 20th anniversary in the Department. Of the 38 current Life Members, 12 are on active status. An asterisk (*) below indicates Active Member in the FIFD in 2017.

Congratulations to those with anniversaries this year! 60 years, Richard Jenssen, Sr, and Ken Edwards, Sr.; 50 years, Bill Faulkner; 40 years, Tom Doherty, Lillie Ahman, and Kathy Zanghetti; and 30 years for John Doucette.

Ken Ahman*
Lillie Ahman, LM since 1997
Andrew Ahrens*
Courtney Allan*
Don Beck*
John Bergquist*
Joe Brock*
Tracy Brock*
Bob Brooks*
David Burnham*
Mike Conroy, LM since 2006
Gail Cypherd
Greg Cypherd, LM since 2014
Dave Denison, LM since 2003
Thomas Doherty, LM since 1997
Chris Dollar*
Kathy Dollar*
Jamie Doucette*
John Doucette, LM since 2007
Dan Doyen, LM since 1999
Reynolds DuPont Jr., LM since 1993
Tawnya Eastman
Chris Edwards, LM since 2009
Donald Edwards, LM since 1980
Jeffrey Edwards, LM since 2011
Ken Edwards, Sr., LM since 1977
Ken Edwards Jr., LM since 2004
Matt Edwards
Richard Edwards, LM since 2002
William Faulkner, LM since 1987
Carol Giles*
Paul Giles*
Jess Hall*
Dirk Harris*
Jay Hartsfield, LM since 1975
Lawrence Horn, LM since 1995
George Horning*, LM since 2001

Bruce Hubert, LM since 2009
Mike Imbriglio, LM since 2015
Richard Jenssen, Sr., LM since 1977
Robert Johns, LM since 1991
Alex Kardziyak
John Kucsera*
Aaron Lusker*
Nate Malinowski*
Steve Malinowski, LM since 2002
Sara McLean
Miguel Mego
Ernie Middleton, LM since 1984
Drew Norton*
Tim Patterson*
Sara Rafferty
Aaron Rice, LM since 2013
Ed Riley, LM since 2006
Jill Rogan
Joe Rogan, LM since 1982
Bob Rogers*
Kandi Sanger, LM since 1999
Penn Sanger, LM since 2014
Janio Spinola
Charles Stepanek, LM since 2002
Alan Thibodeau, LM since 2005
Greg Thibodeau, LM since 1999
Kapri Thomas*
Jared Toldo*
Patty Walker*
James Wall, LM since 2000
Art Walsh, LM since 1995
Mary Walter, LM since 2002
Steve Walter, LM since 1999
Wes Walters*
Kathleen Zanghetti, LM since 1997
Mario Zanghetti, LM since 1975

The Fire Department lost the following members in 2017. They will always be remembered and everyone in our community is most grateful for their service.

Richard Grebe Jr.
John Clavin
Wayne Doucette*
Richard Baker
Robert Wall

LM since 1982
LM since 2002
LM since 2005
LM since 1969
LM since 1980

Feb. 9, 2017
May 9, 2017
Jun 4, 2017
Oct. 21, 2017
Nov. 7, 2017

The Commissioners, officers, and members welcome new volunteers to the department at any time of year. In fact, there are 5 people that have expressed interest in the EMT program offered and the Fishers Island EMS Team has formulated a schedule moving forward in 2018. For more information please contact a District Commissioner or Department Officer.

All are welcome to attend the monthly Fire District meetings. The dates are posted on the community calendar among other places. The next two are February 6 and March 12, 2018.

Featured Photo

USCG Eagle passing the Race early morning March 18, 2023 on her return from the Chesapeake Bay . Photo Credit Marlin Bloethe

A Fishers Island Community Center Program and the accompanying Fog Horn eNewsletter serve as the communications resource for the Fishers Island community. The content – news, calendar, links and photos, milestones, ads, and more create a clear image of Fishers to those on and off the island.

© 2023 – All Right Reserved.