Celebrating and Welcoming Volunteers at the Fire Department

by Jane Ahrens

Members of the Fishers Island Fire Department and their guests celebrated at the Annual Installation Dinner, hosted by the Fire District where the Commissioners swore in the new officers, on Saturday, January 21, 2017.

There are 41 active volunteers currently serving (many in several roles) as department officers, fire personnel, pump operators, ambulance squad EMTs, and Sea Stretcher captains and navigators. Additional members serve as advisors, drivers, radio control and in other important capacities. Founded in 1927, Fishers Island Fire Department members work closely with Dr. Chris Ingram, the Island’s year-round doctor, and the Island Health Project.

Members serving on duty ‘in the field’, in their primary volunteer positions, break down this way for the 2017 Roster:

  • 5 officers
  • 23 fire personnel
  • 10 on Sea Stretcher
  • 13 EMS Personnel (10 are EMTs)

The age range for 2017:

  • Under age 40: 7 members
  • Age 40-60: 26 members
  • Over age 60: 8 members

Fire Calls Answered in 2016:

  • 57 Fire calls
  • 48 EMT calls
  • 44 Sea Stretcher runs

2017 Fishers Island Fire District and Fire Department Officers

Fire District Board of Commissioners
Paul Giles, Chairman
Joe Brock
Aaron Lusker
Jennifer Sanger
Greg Thibodeau

Catherine Edwards, Fire District Secretary
Kristen Peterson, Fire District Treasurer

Fire Department Officers
Bruce Hubert, Chief
Jeffrey Edwards, Fire Division Chief
Carol Giles, EMS Division Chief
Aaron Rice, Assistant Fire Division Chief
Tracy Brock, Assistant EMS Division Chief

Alex Kardziyak, Fire Captain
Jamie Doucette, EMS Captain
John Doucette, Sargent at Arms
John Bergquist, Steward
Chris Dollar, Secretary
Jill Rogan, Treasurer

Fire Department Executive Board
Tracy Brock, Chair
Wayne Doucette
Bob Rogers
Art Walsh
Bruce Hubert
Jeffrey Edwards
Carol Giles 

Emergency Medical Service EMTs
Carol Giles, EMT, EMS Division Chief
Tracy Brock, EMT, Assistant EMS Division Chief
Jamie Doucette, EMT, EMS Captain
Chris Dollar, AEMT
Kathy Dollar, EMT
Gail Cypherd, EMT
Tawnya Eastman, EMT
Paul Giles, EMT
Bruce Hubert, EMT
Kapri Thomas, EMT
Jess Hall, First Responder
Patty Walker
Jill Rogan

Click on any photo to view a larger image. Photos by Jane Ahrens

2016 Fishers Island Fire Department Volunteers

Life Members are those who have served for over 20 years in the department. Of the 43 current Life Members, 14 are on active status. Thank you to each and every one for their volunteer service.

*indicates Active Member
LM indicates Life Member, reached on the 20th anniversary year

Ken Ahman*
Lillie Ahman LM since 1997
Andrew Ahrens*
Richard Baker LM since 1969
Don Beck*
John Bergquist*
Joe Brock*
Tracy Brock*
Bob Brooks*
David Burnham*
John Clavin LM since 2002
Mike Conroy LM since 2006 Gail Cypherd
Greg Cypherd* LM since 2014
Dave Denison LM since 2003 Thomas Doherty LM since 1997 Chris Dollar
Kathy Dollar*
Jamie Doucette*
John Doucette LM since 2007 Wayne Doucette LM since 2005
Dan Doyen LM since 1999
Reynolds DuPont Jr. LM since 1993
Tawnya Eastman*
Chris Edwards LM since 2009 Donald Edwards LM since 1980 Jeffrey Edwards LM since 2011
Ken Edwards, Sr. LM since 1977
Ken Edwards Jr. LM since 2004 Richard Edwards LM since 2002 Richard Erpenbeck LM since 1973 William Faulkner LM since 1987 Carol Giles
Paul Giles*
Grebe Jr. LM since 1982
Jess Hall*
Dirk Harris*

Jay Hartsfield LM since 1975
Lawrence Horn LM since 1995
George Horning LM since 2001 Bruce Hubert LM since 2009
Mike Imbriglio LM since 2015
Richard Jenssen, Sr. LM since 1977 +
Robert Johns LM since 1991
Alex Kardziyak*
John Kucsera*
Aaron Lusker*
Nate Malinowski*
Steve Malinowski LM since 2002 Sara McLean Miguel Mego
Ernie Middleton LM since 1984
Tim Patterson*
Sara Rafferty
Aaron Rice LM since 2013 Ed Riley LM since 2006 Jill Rogan
Joe Rogan LM since 1982
Bob Rogers*
Kandi Sanger LM since 1999
Penn Sanger* LM since 2014
Janio Spinola
Charles Stepanek LM since 2002
Alan Thibodeau LM since 2005
Greg Thibodeau LM since 1999 Kapri Thomas
Jared Toldo *
Patty Walker *
James Wall LM since 2000
Robert Wall LM since 1980
Art Walsh LM since 1995
Mary Walter LM since 2002
Steve Walter LM since 1999
Kathleen Zanghetti LM since 1997
Mario Zanghetti LM since 1975

The Commissioners, officers, and members welcome new volunteers to the department at any time of year. For more information please contact a District Commissioner or Department Officer.

All are welcome to attend the monthly Fire District meetings. The dates are posted on the community calendar among other places. The next two are February 13 and March 13, 2017.

Editor’s Note April 2017: + Richard Jenssen, Sr., inducted in April 1957 and a Life Member since 1977, was accidentally left off this list. This has now been remedied here and on the Fire Department’s records.

Dick wrote to Fire Chief Hubert in February 2017 and shared the following:

I read, with interest, the Fog Horn’s account of the Department’s annual meeting and swearing in of officers. I only recognize one or two of those in the photos and the names listed as active members. I did recognize the names of all those listed as life time members, this is mainly because I am a lifetime member…

I served in various capacities from my induction in April 1957 until I left the Island in March 1978. While in the Department my family and I lived in the old Firehouse and I was responsible for maintaining the vehicles. I was a Second Assistant Chief and Training Officer as well as an EMT and Secretary. Ken Edwards and I received some of our EMT training together in New York City.

Thank you for having this correction made. Enclosed is proof of my membership.

Featured Photo

USCG Eagle passing the Race early morning March 18, 2023 on her return from the Chesapeake Bay . Photo Credit Marlin Bloethe

A Fishers Island Community Center Program

FishersIsland.net and the accompanying Fog Horn eNewsletter serve as the communications resource for the Fishers Island community. The content – news, calendar, links and photos, milestones, ads, and more create a clear image of Fishers to those on and off the island.

© 2023 – FishersIsland.net All Right Reserved.