Celebrating Service: Fire District Installation 2014

by Jane Ahrens
John Doucette
Greg Thibodeau
Tracy Brock
Bob Rogers
Paul and Carol Giles
David Burnham and Tracy Brock
Tawnya Eastman and Jamie Doucette
Greg, Aaron and Bob
Commissioners (missing Aaron Lusker)
Frances Roethgen and Art Walsh
Joe Hirschfeld
Joe Brock and Greg Cypherd
Kristen, Jen and Heather
David Burnham and Greg Cypherd
Mike Imbriglio
Tim Patterson and Mike Imbriglio

Saturday, January 25, 2014 the Fishers Island Fire District Commissioners and Officers were joined by the volunteer members and their guests at the annual Fire District Installation Dinner. The celebration took place in the Fire House ‘barn’.

The Commissioners swore in the Fire Department Officers. These officers include Chief Wayne Doucette, 1st Assistant to the Chief Bob Rogers, 2nd Assistant to the Chief Nate Malinowski and Fire Captain Joe Hirschfeld.

The celebratory evening included dinner, and Fire District Board of Commissioners Chairman Joe Brock was please to recognize Fireman Aaron Rice for 20 years of service, awarding him with his Life Member pin. Dave Denison will receive his 30-year Life Member pin upon his return to the Island.

Founded in 1927, there are approximately 50 active volunteers currently serving as firemen, Ambulance Squad EMTs, Sea Stretcher captains and navigators. They work closely with Fishers Island’s year round doctor, Dr. Chris Ingram.

2014 Fishers Island Fire District and Fire Department Officers

Fire District Board of Commissioners
Joe Brock, Chairman
Jeff Edwards
Paul Giles
Aaron Lusker
Jennifer Sanger

Catherine Edwards, Fire District Secretary
Kristen Peterson, Fire District Treasurer

Fire Department Officers
Wayne Doucette, Chief
Bob Rogers, 1st Assistant to the Chief
Nate Malinowski, 2nd Assistant to the Chief
Joe Hirschfeld, Fire Captain
Tracy Brock, Lieutenant

Fire Department Executive Board
Greg Thibodeau, Chair
Tracy Brock
Wayne Doucette
Nate Malinowski
Tim Patterson
Bob Rogers
Art Walsh

Kelly Ramsey, Fire Department Secretary

2014 Fishers Island Fire Department Volunteers
*Active Members, Life Member (LM)

[box type=”shadow”]
Ken Ahman*
Lillie Ahman LM since 1997
Richard Baker LM since 1969
Don Beck*
John Bergquist*
Joe Brock*
Tracy Brock*
Bob Brooks*
David Burnham*
John Clavin LM since 2002
Mike ConroyLM since 2006
Gail Cypherd*
Greg Cypherd*
Dave DenisonLM since 2003
Thomas Doherty LM since 1997
Jamie Doucette*
Jeremy Doucette*
John DoucetteLM since 2007
Wayne DoucetteLM since 2005
Dan Doyen LM since 1999
Reynolds DuPont Jr. LM since 1993
Tawnya Eastman*
Chris EdwardsLM since 2009
Donald Edwards LM since 1980
Jeffrey EdwardsLM since 2011
Ken Edwards, Sr.LM since 1977
Ken Edwards Jr. LM since 2004
Richard Edwards LM since 2002
Ben Eggleton*
Richard Erpenbeck LM since 1973
William Faulkner LM since 1987
A. J. Gada Jr. LM since 1978
Carol Giles*
Paul Giles*
A. R. Grebe Jr. LM since 1982
Richard Hale LM since 2000
James Hall*
Jay Hartsfield LM since 1975
Joe Hirschfeld*

Lawrence Horn LM since 1995
George HorningLM since 2001
Bruce HubertLM since 2009
Michael Imbriglio*
Robert Johns LM since 1991
Alex Kardziyak*
John Kucsera*
Aaron Lusker*
Nate Malinowski*
Steve MalinowskiLM since 2002
Sara McLean*
Ernie MiddletonLM since 1984
Tim Patterson*
George Peabody*
Sara Rafferty*
Kelly Ramsey*
Aaron RiceLM since 2013
Ed Riley LM since 2006
Ryan Rodd*
Jill Rogan*
P. J. Rogan LM since 1982
Bob Rogers*
Jennifer Sanger*
Kandi Sanger LM since 1999
Penn Sanger*
Janio Spinola*
Jeremy Spofford*
Charles Stepanek LM since 2002
Alan Thibodeau LM since 2005
Greg ThibodeauLM since 1999
Kapri Thomas*
James Wall LM since 2000
Robert Wall LM since 1980
Art WalshLM since 1995
Mary Walter LM since 2002
Steve Walter LM since 1999
Alex Williams*
Kathleen Zanghetti LM since 1997
Mario Zanghetti LM since 1975[/one_half_last]

The Fishers Island Fire Department is currently holding a Membership Drive. This vital organization of the Fishers Island community is looking for volunteer firefighters and EMTs. All individuals that have their primary residence on Fishers Island, or commute to the Island for work every day, are eligible. If you are interested in becoming a member, please contact the Fishers Island Fire Department at fifire@fishersisland.net to obtain more information.

Photos by Gail Cypherd

Featured Photo

USCG Eagle passing the Race early morning March 18, 2023 on her return from the Chesapeake Bay . Photo Credit Marlin Bloethe

A Fishers Island Community Center Program

FishersIsland.net and the accompanying Fog Horn eNewsletter serve as the communications resource for the Fishers Island community. The content – news, calendar, links and photos, milestones, ads, and more create a clear image of Fishers to those on and off the island.

© 2023 – FishersIsland.net All Right Reserved.