Islanders are 2017 Softball Champions

The 2017 Islanders: Pictured, from left to right: (standing) Tim Hoch, Harrison Hall, Matt Edwards, Jared Toldo, Fred Toldo, Brian Busse, Zack Hoch; (kneeling) Bill Bloethe, Mike George, Patrick Edwards. Not pictured: Mitchell Berquist, Thomas Evans, Shelby Lusker, James Wright

The Islanders defeated Pirates Cove Marine in the decisive Game 3 of the FI Softball League championship series, 16-15.

The thrilling title game was highlighted by an epic top of the third inning by the Islanders. After the first two batters were retired, the Islanders exploded for 8 runs, taking a 14-6 lead. Pirates Cove held the Islanders in check the rest of the game, only allowing two more runs, but were unable to overcome the early deficit.

Pirates Cove threatened to rally in the bottom of the seventh inning, trailing by 3 runs, but could only manage to push 2 runs across, stranding runners on second and third as Bill Bloethe caught the final out of the game.

The Islanders took Game 1 of the series before Pirates Cove evened things up in the second game. Pirate’s Cove fell short in the championship for the second year in a row, while the Islanders claimed their second title in five years (2013).

Many thanks to IPP for allowing the use of the ball field, all the teams for participating, the fans for all their support, and to the volunteer umpires. THANK YOU!

Submitted by Matt Edwards

Check Also

Soccer World Cup Broadcasting Live @ FICC

Join us at the Community Center - 11:00 am Sunday, July 15